DFWChild / Articles / MomLife / Mom Blogs / A Day in the Life of Lauren Van Hoy

A Day in the Life of Lauren Van Hoy

Lauren lives in Arlington with her husband Jonathan and their two girls. Payton turned 2 in November, and Lauren had her second daughter, Kinsley, on November 20. Lauren stays at home with her babies and works two part-time jobs from home – for Excel Oil & Gas and for Young Life Arlington, both in office management.

6AM We just had our second baby, so our normal schedule is not so normal. We’re trying to keep to our routine as best we can, but with a newborn it doesn’t always go as planned. Sometimes finding enough energy to get out of bed and get going is really hard to do. Having an infant is a lot harder when you have a 2-year-old running around! This is what a typical day for us looks like right now: Around 5:30 or 6am, I’ll get Kinsley from her bassinet and feed her. Jonny is still sound asleep in the bed next to me. Kinsley will usually fall right back to sleep after eating and then so does Mommy. Jonny gets up, showers, eats breakfast and leaves for work by 7:15am. I don’t know if it’s from the lack of sleep or what, but I never hear him when he leaves.

7:30AM Payton wakes up between these times. Lately, it’s more toward 8:30am, which makes this momma happy. If I’m not too tired I’ll get up around 7am and get some things done around the house (lately this doesn’t happen). I wake up to feed Kinsley around 7:45am. Then I’ll get Payton out of her bed, we’ll eat breakfast, get dressed and ready to go for the day. Getting ready always takes some time, because my 2-year-old is one busy girl. She’s always on the go. Breakfast usually consists of oatmeal, cereal, yogurt or waffles (I’m not much of a cook). On Tuesdays and Thursdays, Payton has school from 9am–2:30pm. So we get her backpack ready, pack her lunch, and I’ll throw on some casual clothes, put my hair up in a bun and off we go. If I’m feeling really good, I’ll put on a little make-up too.

9AM If it’s a school day, I drop Payton off and then normally I head home to catch up on laundry, cleaning, work and other household duties. I would also use this time to run errands and do grocery shopping. But since Kinsley is still so little, my world pretty much revolves around her – and I don’t mind one bit. Once we get a more established routine, hopefully I’ll get back into our “normal day” and be more productive. But right now, my mornings consist of feeding, changing diapers, napping and repeat (hopefully a lot of napping). If I’m feeling really energetic, I’ll run some errands with her and get some housework done, but again, having a 1-month-old makes my days very unpredictable. I consider myself lucky if I can get in a shower and maybe a load of laundry or two. If it’s a non-school day, Payton and I spend the morning playing, crafting and learning while I change diapers and feed Kinsley around the clock. Sometimes I have to go into the office in the morning, and my mom will watch the girls for a few hours. My parents live close, and my mom is very helpful with the kids.

12PM If not at school, Payton and I will eat lunch and get ready for naptime. Again, I’m still feeding and changing diapers.

1PM Thankfully, Payton still takes good, long naps. Kinsley is usually napping too. I use this time to catch up on work or household chores or nap. Lately, I’ve been doing a lot more napping. I also like to use the time to read, blog and scrapbook. If Payton has school that day, I pick her up at 2:30pm and we come home for snack and some down time.

4PM If the weather is nice we try to spend the afternoon outside, at the park, running errands or playing around the house. I start dinner around 5:30pm.

6PM Jonny gets home and we eat dinner and start our nighttime routine. We give Payton and Kinsley a bath, get them in their pajamas and brush their teeth (well, Payton’s anyway).

7PM We use this hour to wind down – reading books, playing with quiet toys or watching a show or two. At 8pm we read a book, say our prayers and Payton goes down for bed. Kinsley is still getting into a schedule, so we’re sleeping, playing or feeding around this time.

8PM Jonny and I clean the dishes and straighten up the house. We seem to have a mountain of toys to pick up every night, and with a second baby it seems to have doubled in the last month. We try and use this time to spend alone time together and relax. Again, with a newborn it’s not an easy task. We’ve been falling asleep on the couch to a movie most nights. Jonny usually goes to bed around 10:30pm. I would normally stay up a little later to have some “mommy time,” but with Kinsley, I feed her between 10:30pm and 11:30pm and then go to bed because I know I’ll be waking up in 3–4 hours to feed her again.

1AM I wake up, feed Kinsley and go back to bed.

Diaries are penned by moms (and dads) in the Fort Worth area. The authors volunteer to share a day of their choosing and are not paid or endorsed by FortWorthChild. Send your diary to editorial@dfwchild.com. All submissions are subject to editing and may be cut for space.