DFWChild / Articles / Education / Extracurricular / 20 Books to Read if You Like 'A Wrinkle in Time'

20 Books to Read if You Like 'A Wrinkle in Time'

We love how books can transport us to another world, so we can't get enough of the buzz around Disney's upcoming movie A Wrinkle in Time, based on the first installment of Madeleine L'Engle's beloved Time Quintet series. 

A Wrinkle in Time tells the story of 13-year-old Meg Murry and friends who travel through space and time thanks to the otherworldly Mrs. Who, Mrs. Which and Mrs. Whatsit.

To celebrate the movie's release this weekend, check out the 20 best out-of-this-world titles for children, tweens and teens (and adults too!), chosen by our friends at the Fort Worth Library

Books to Read for Ages 7-11


Carnival at Candlelight by Mary Pope Osborne
While on a mission to prove to Merlin that they can use magic wisely, Jack and Annie travel to seventeenth-century Venice, Italy, to save the city from a disastrous flood. Part of the Magic Tree House Series.


D-Day: Battle on the Beach by Kate Messner
Arriving in Normandy on the morning of World War II's D-Day invasion, Ranger the time-traveling golden retriever befriends a young African-American soldier and a Jewish boy in hiding from the Nazis. By the award-winning author of The Brilliant Fall of Gianna Z. Part of the Ranger in Time series.


Don't Disturb the Dinosaurs by Ada Hopper
Catapulted through time to the prehistoric era, the DATA Set find their efforts to avoid contaminating history challenged by flying pterosaurs, stomping stegosaurus stampedes and a sharp-toothed T-rex. Part of the DATA set series.


Lost in Time: the Fourth Journey Through Time by Geronimo Stilton
When his friend, Prof. Paws von Volt, is lost in time during a trip into the past to prove the authenticity of an Egyptian artifact, Stilton and his companions board the professor's time machine and meet an array of famous historical figures. Part of the Geronimo Stilton: Journey Through Time Series.


Marco? Polo! by Jon Scieszka
Joe, Fred, and Sam embark on their sixteenth time warp adventure, which takes them to 13th-century China where they encounter sandstorms, desert bandits, a smelly camel, strange horoscopes, the emperor, and a very famous explorer named Marco Polo. Part of the Time Warp Trio series.


Wyatt Burp Rides Again by Greg Trine
Despairing over a lack of crime in her San Francisco community, superhero Jo Schmo and her doggy sidekick travel back in time to the Gold Rush days to track down a notorious outlaw, an effort that is complicated by the schemes of two mean girls back home. Part of the Adventures of Jo Schmo series.

Books to Read for Ages 12-14


Caught by Margaret Peterson Haddix
Compelled to return Albert Einstein's lesser-known daughter to her own time, Jonah and Katherine journey to the early 1900s only to discover that the girl's mother seems to understand quite a bit about time travel and has an agenda of her own. Book 5 in the Missing series.


The Lincoln Project by Dan Gutman
Invited by the enigmatic billionaire Miss Z to travel through time and photograph some of history's most important events, Luke, Isabel, David and Julia are sent to the year 1863 to capture Abraham Lincoln delivering his famous Gettysburg Address. Book 1 in the Flashback Four series.


A Mutiny in Time by James Dashner
History is broken and best friends Dak Smyth and Sera Froste, along with teen Hystorian Riq, must travel back in time using a device known as the Infinity Ring to correct the "Great Breaks" that have occurred where history has gone disastrously off course. Book 1 in the Infinity Ring series. Also available on cd.


Saving Lucas Biggs by Marisa De los Santos
When 13-year-old Margaret's father is sentenced to death for a crime he didn't commit, she knows the only way to save him is to use the forbidden family power of time travel.


Story Thieves by James Riley
Owen's boring life is turned on its head when he sees classmate Bethany climb out of a book in the school library and learns that the half-fictional girl has been searching every book for her missing father, a fictional character. Book 1 in the Story Thieves series.


The Time of the Fireflies by Kimberley Griffiths Little
Receiving an eerie call on a disconnected old phone at her family's antique shop, Larissa follows a series of clues to the muddy riverbank, where fireflies take her on a magical journey through her family's troubled history. By the author of When the Butterflies Came.


Time Traveling With A Hamster by Ross Welford
Receiving a letter from his late father on his 12th birthday, Al follows instructions leading to a time machine that he must use to travel back to the year 1984 to prevent the accident that eventually costs his father his life.


A Wrinkle in Time: The Graphic Novel by Hope Larson
A graphic novel adaptation of the classic tale in which Meg Murray and her friends become involved with unearthly strangers and a search for Meg's father, who has disappeared while engaged in secret work for the government. Book 1 in the Time Quintet series.

Books to Read Ages 15+

The Girl From Everywhere by Heidi Heilig
Growing up beside her father on a time-traveling ship that ventures to real and imaginary places, 16-year-old Nix struggles to preserve her life when her father obsessively pursues a map in a past time period in ways that threaten her existence. Ship Beyond Time is the sequel.


Invictus by Ryan Graudin
Born outside of time as the son of a time-traveler from the 24th century and a first-century gladiator, Farway takes a position commanding a ship that smuggles valuables from different eras before meeting a mysterious girl with knowledge that places his existence in question.


Passenger by Alexandra Bracken
When a violin prodigy who has lost everything wakes up on a ship in another time period, a man who wants to escape a life of servitude is forced to confront his past while keeping his former captors from claiming a stolen object of untold value. Book 1 in the Passenger series.


The Reluctant Assassin by Eoin Colfer
The first book in the new series W.A.R.P. follows the misadventures of Victorian orphan Riley, who becomes a reluctant assistant to a murderous illusionist and is transported to modern-day London, where he is aided by a teen FBI agent. It puts a high-tech spin on classic themes from Oliver Twist. Also available as a book on cd.


Ruby Red by Kerstin Gier
Since the time-traveling gene that runs in her family was supposed to skip 16-year-old Gwen, she was quite surprised when she started taking leaps into the past, which came complete with archaic manners, fancy clothes and an obnoxious–but gorgeous–traveling counterpart. Book 1 in the Liebe geht durch alle Zeiten series.


Weave A Circle Round by Kari Maaren
When she runs afoul of her eccentric new neighbors, teen Freddy is sent traveling through time where she encounters numerous versions of her neighbors, Josiah and Cuerva, and she realizes that she might be the third in their group of immortals.